The entry site has closed for the 2023 cycle. It will reopen for the 2024 cycle in December 2023.

Welcome to the entry site for The Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism!


Each spring, Columbia University awards Pulitzer Prizes in 15 journalism categories. The winners are chosen by the Pulitzer Prize Board, which seeks to recognize journalistic excellence in eligible U.S. news organizations.

For a list with definitions of the 15 prize categories, click here.
For a more detailed explanation of the rules, the recent changes and the FAQ on submitting an entry, click here.
For technical requirements, click here.

All entries must be submitted electronically. Submissions on paper are not accepted.

Entry deadline: Jan. 25, 2023 at 11:59 p.m. Eastern time

Entry fee: $75 per entry - paid by credit card only (MasterCard, Visa, American Express and Discover).

Click HERE for your guide to preparing and submitting an entry.